First Steps – Flower arranging

What I found very disturbing after I escaped the big black hole was that I was unable to read! After having spent years reading books and documents and papers to do with Education, and years of reading paperback and novels for enjoyment, and not as enjoyable books I was forced to read for my English course at college, now here I was unable to sustain the concentration to read more than a few words on a paper!! Ok. No worries the reading crisis would have to be dealt with at later date.

So, the first thing I did ‘Out of my Comfort Zone’ was to join a Flower Arranging course!

flower arrangingEveryone I know, close family and friends, split their sides at hearing this as, to be fair, I am not exactly the most visually creative person to walk this earth. My hands are not delicate and I am very messy! I have no particular interest in flowers per say and quite happy to buy a bunch and dump them in a vase of water, place them on the hearth or a windowsill and enjoy the sight. So, off I went! A complete novice! Wow! Wow! Wow!! When I got home after that first lesson, I can honestly say that I thought my head would not get in through that back door. I couldn’t believe that I had created such a thing of beauty! I had never imagined that arranging flowers could give such pleasure and boost confidence and pride!! A year on, I still attend classes, own a complete set of new tools, ravage my garden of every bit of colour that pops out of the ground ( much to my mother’s dismay, but well worth it when I see the pleasure and delight in her eyes when a beautiful arrangement is presented to her on a weekly basis! ) I have even been asked to arrange the flowers for a September wedding!! So there you go!!

My new found entrepreneurial head is now seeing pound signs! I’m not dismissing the idea of making money in phase three of my life. In fact, at the speed I am spending it I will no doubt be looking for some kind of employment over the next 5 years to supplement my income. Mmmmm on line flower arranger is beginning to sound good!

Here is a collage of some of my arrangements. I made the top left hand corner arrangement as a present for my sister’s 60th birthday. ‘Tea and Cakes’. She was delighted, I’m happy to say. The bottom middle one was made for a cousin who had no idea what to take to his auntie’s 85th birthday so we nipped into town,bought a few flowers and …. dah dah! A nice arrangement just looks so impressive and really, who doesn’t like a room with some flowers in it?

flower collage

I have a great teacher. His name is Jonathan Lloyd Davies! He lives and breathes flowers and makes the art of arranging look so simple. jonathanHe is so patient and simply wonderful. Check out his website here

 

I have now been asked to create a bouquet for my friend’s September wedding!! The is my first commission!! Yikes. But I’ll do it! There is no room for negativity!

2 thoughts on “First Steps – Flower arranging

  1. Pingback: jansjourneysite

  2. Pingback: Where Was I? | jansjourneysite

Leave a Reply

